Pancakes In 3 Ways – Happy Shrove Tuesday :) + YouTube Video

So it’s Pancake day, and guess what I decided to make Pancakes 🙂 aha.

Recently, I have perfected my baking style of the American Style Pancake and I’m going to have to thank the one and only Jamie Oliver for that.

This recipe is so easy to follow, so why don’t you make some too?

Once you have mastered the baking of the American Pancake, then you come to the fun part – the decorating, filling and stacking.

I’ve made 3 styles of pancakes; Lemon and Meringue, Fruit and Yogurt and last but defo not least Chocolate and Marshmallow.

Hope you enjoy baking these and most importantly eating these as much as I did 🙂

What you will need:

– 6 Large Eggs

– 230g Plain Flour

– 2 Large Teaspoons of Baking Powder

– 280ml Milk ( milk of your choice )

– 2 Pinches of Salt

How To: 

  1. Separate the egg whites from the yolks and place them in 2 separate bowls – 1 whites and 1 yolks.
  2. Whisk the egg whites with the salt until it has formed stiff peaks.
  3. In the other bowl, add sieved flour to the egg yolks, followed by the baking powder and milk.
  4. Beat together until mixed well, should end up with a soft fluffy consistency.
  5. Fold the egg white mixture into this bowll, being careful not to lose to much air so it stays fluffy.
  6. Using a ladle, spoon the mixture into a non-stick frying pan on medium to low heat – too hot and the pancakes wont cook properly and burn.
  7. I use the calorie free spray to spray the frying pan.
  8. After a couple of minutes, if you notice bubbles popping to the surface, it’s time to flip the pancakes.
  9. The pancakes should be a even gold colour once done.
  10. I normally place them in a stack on a plate before getting creative with fillings and toppings!

img_2857img_2858img_2859img_2860img_2861

The Chocolate Overdose:

This one is probably best eaten as a desert as it’s high on the sweet-tooth scale (although i’m certainly not one to judge if you were to eat this for breakfast, they serve things similar in i-Hop after all). This is for those of you who love chocolate on your pancakes. Between each pancake is a smothering of chocolate spread and a handful of mini marshmallows and dark chocolate chips. I decided to drizzle chocolate dipping sauce on top, but you can always go for chocolate sauce (the kind you squeeze on ice creams) or melt some chocolate if you have a bit more time. Since i’m also obsessed with twirl bites at the moment, I also sprinkled a few of those on top, you can put any chocolate topping you like to be honest, it will still work. If you have a favourite chocolate bar or biscuit, this is where you can incorporate it into the pancakes. I also added some chocolate sprinkles to give it that extra cray cray look! This honestly tasted…AMAZING. Very filling and probably best shared…but amazing.

img_2864img_2865img_2866img_2867img_2868

The Lemon and Meringue:

Scaling it down from the chocolate overdose by about a mile, it wouldn’t be a pancake post without the traditional lemon and sugar pancakes, I just added a bit of Meringue to make this pancake my own. Always best with real lemons as opposed to bottled lemon juice (but I went for the bottle lemon juice as easier) and caster sugar for a lovely light dusting. I like to sprinkle lemon juice over the meringue and place them on top where needed and it looks pretty too. A lot of people’s favourite and something slightly less filling!

img_2870img_2871img_2872img_2873img_2874img_2875img_2876img_2877img_2878img_2879

The Fruit & Yoghurt:

This is probably the pancake I tend to make the most. This is quite a light filling as opposed to cream or ice cream and slightly more healthy. Spread a little bit of yoghurt between each layer and fill with your favourite fruit. I’ve gone for blueberries and strawberries because I am an absolute sucker for these but this would also work well with more exotic fruit too. I then tend to put a dollop of yoghurt on top and a handful of fruit,  and a light dusting of icing sugar! Obviously you can substitute the greek yoghurt for soya, natural or flavoured depending on how you feel or what you have lurking in the fridge, the yoghurt I chose was vanilla flavoured greek yoghurt. I think it looks quite impressive if I say so myself, not groundbreaking obviously, but tastes delicious and great for breakfast, lunch or desert! YUM!

img_2896img_2898img_2900img_2901img_2902img_2903img_2904img_2905

Me being proud of these pancakes – LOL

Watch The Video:

Let me know what your favourite pancakes are in the comments below ❤

Leave a comment